Rhonda Gauthier: Gifts of Art

Seven Sisters Gallery is currently showing the work of Rhonda Gauthier. A Fine Artist of Oil on Canvas, she describes herself as an American, Romantic, Impressionist Artist. Her oil paintings are primarily of the landscapes of California, Sante Fe, Texas and the South. When I asked her about how she chooses her subject, she explained.

“…actually “THEY” choose me.  Sounds corny but the idea is that something affects a part of that inside being and it wants to make a painting.  Be it a bit of color, a special lighting,  the grandeur of the vista, the agelessness of a Bison.  Within every bit of life and nature there is a certain something that touches each of us.  Poets write, musicians compose music, and artists paint.  We all express and interpret that which we experience.

I remember the day in Fort Worth, Texas. I was standing before a painting by Monet and “hearing” the words ,”This is what you are meant to do with your life.”  About a year later I took my first art lesson with Lynn Murphy and I’ve worked toward the goal of being the best painter I can be. That was almost 20 years ago. I remember all of my teachers and the special gifts of art they each shared with me.  In Giverny France I painted in Monet’s Garden. Walked where the Impressionist painters walked. Thank you to the late Gayle Bennett for your “gifts”. For me, there is no substitute for the euphoric aroma of oil paints. I open a tube of my oil paints and the images flow through my head /heart/hand. It’s magical and mystical …gifts from the Creator.

I am especially attracted to water.  Almost all of my paintings have water of some sort…everything from lakes, oceans, fountains, creeks.  As one painting is titled; water is The Essence Of Life.   The Essence Of LifeThat particular painting, The Essence Of Life was  painted while on an artist getaway to New Mexico.  I absolutely LOVE the red cliffs.  It is truly beautiful how a plain landscape is brought to life with the red colored cliffs.  And come dusk, the shadows created by the setting sun upon the crevices are just pure magic.  I wanted to share the beauty of the sparse land, the red cliffs and the skies which make us pull off the road and stand in awe.  I had my ideas and painted the painting but something was lacking.  Then it came to me like a bolt, water.  Must have water.  So the little creek and pool of water connected the entire paintings and brought everything together.

Another painting from the same area which is very dear to my heart is titled Always Here For You. Always Here For You This scene is an actual scene across from the Echo Amphitheater north of Abiquiu, New Mexico.  This was one time where I did not change anything.  It was painted as it exists in nature.  The two rock formations really do look like a couple standing there side by side.  The moment I saw the scene I knew what the painting would be and what the title would be…the rest was to simply to put the two together.

Rhonda Gauthier will be showing her work at Seven Sisters Gallery, in Morro Bay, California from May 1-May 26, 2013. You can also find her work online at SevenSistersGalleryCA.com

Please leave us comments. We’d love to hear about your experiences with Art. How has it informed your own life?

Leave a Reply

